Call on the Presbyterian Church (USA) to Support a Global Ceasefire

On the 23rd of March, 2020 UN Secretary-General António Guterres called for a global ceasefire saying, “There should be only one fight in our world today, our shared battle against COVID-19.”

As of this writing, the call has been endorsed by an ever-growing number of Member States, some 70 so far, regional partners, non-State actors, civil society networks and organizations, and all United Nations Messengers of Peace and Advocates for the Sustainable Development Goals. Pope Francis has also endorsed this ceasefire.

This is what we know:

  • COVID-19 does not care about nationality or ethnicity, faction or faith, but attacks all relentlessly, though the greatest burden is born by the poor and communities of color;
  • In war-ravaged countries, health systems have collapsed;
  • Health professionals and facilities, already few in number, have often been targeted;
  • Refugees and others displaced by violent conflict are doubly vulnerable and we are admonished by scripture to protect them, especially the widow, the orphan and the refugees (Exodus 22:21-23);
  • The most vulnerable – women and children, people with disabilities, the marginalized and the displaced – pay the highest price and Jesus himself teaches us that the Kingdom of God belongs to them (Mark 10:13-14);
  • Putting armed conflict on lockdown would help the human family focus together on the true fight of our lives, create corridors of life-saving aid, open windows of diplomacy, and bring hope to those most vulnerable to COVID-19.

Therefore, we the Peace Churches of the Presbyterian Church (USA) and the undersigned call upon the Stated Clerk of the Presbyterian Church (USA) and the Director of the Office of Public Witness in Washington, D.C. to endorse the UN Secretary-General’s call for an immediate global ceasefire in all corners of the world. We also request the Stated Clerk to communicate this endorsement to President Donald J. Trump, Secretary of State Michael Pompeo and UN Ambassador Kelly Craft.


Rev. Geoff Browning
Patty Irish
Patricia Kinney, Elder
Margaret Rosenbloom
Susan Brooksbank
Gail Thompson RNCS, MSN
The Rev. Dale Bracey Parish Associate
Rev. Emily Brewer
Art Hunt
Ellen Perry
Gordon Craig
Joy Sleizer
Darlene Ristrim
Rev. J. Mark Davidson, Pastor Emeritus
Rev. Betsy Simpson
Marjorie Visher
Allison Davidson
The Rev. Dr. Erik Johnson
Lucy Lewis
Rev. Mark Koenig
Jane wallace
Rev. Jan Orr-Harter
Rev L. William Yolton
Ted Shohfi
Mrs Sharon Shohfi
Dr. Evan Hughes
Bruce Reyes-Chow, Pastor, First Presbyterian Church of Palo Alto and Former Moderator, 218th General Assembly
Rev. Patrick Harley
Kimberlee Runnion
Reverend Ann L Pitman
Scott Brenneman
Dr. Lela Noble
Patricia Kinney, Elder
susan chamberlain
Joy Sleizer
Mr. Rodney Thorn
Dr. Evan Hughes
Mrs. Lucy Janjigian
Mrs. Lucy Janjigian
Rev. Fahed Abuakel
Barbara Wada
Ms. Barbara Mensendiek
Barbara Mensendiek Ms.
Rhoda Margossian
Rev Dan Hoffman
Marjorie Visher
Carol Holsinger
Cynthia Chin-Lee
Iris Edinger
Rev. Karen R. Larson
Charles Jannsen, elder
Dr. Belle McMaster
Karen Wilson
Ms. Melinda Thompson, ruling elder
Mrs. Donna Crider
Reverend Barbara Jo Piercy
Marilyn Henkelman
Dr. Herman C. Waetjen Professor Emeritus
Ms. Nancy Pfafflin
Larry Hannon
Rev. Dr. Anna Case-Winters
Kirk Anderson
Rev. Thomas Campbell-Schmitt
Ms. Jeanne Whitesell
Rev. Vivian Lovingood
wes weaver
elisabeth heefner, MD
Nancy Ellingham Ms.
Van Deusen Audrey
Mrs elizabeth smith
Mary Smarr, Ruling Elder
Rev. Mark Meeks
Elizabeth Lanz
Elsie McKee, Ph.D.
Professor Pamela Brubaker
Rick MacArthur
James E. Ray Retired Minister
Roger C. Johnson PhD
Merilie Robertson
Revs DrsGerritt and Elizabeth Baker-Smith
Sr. Margaret Sikora
Blake Collins
Rev. Barbara Peter, H.R.
Rev. Dennie Carcelli
Mrs. Jane Gillispie
Mrs. .Ellen Wasfi
Jan Gardner
Ms., elder
Judi Angell
Karyl Lyne, Clerk of Session
Rachael Eggebeen
Mrs. Roberta Badger-Cain
Rev. Robert J. Cromwell, Supply Pastor
Mary Smith, Communications Director
Ms. Barb DeLeone
Marita Mayer, Deacon
Chris Abbyad
the Rev. Dr. Clay Brantley
Ms, Joy Martin
Reverend Debbie Blane
Diane Waddell, Ruling Elder
Beverly Conway
Rachel Sutphin
Douglas West
Sheldon Burkhalter
Rev. Anne Weirich
Jenny Holmes
Jane Larsen-Wigger
Ruth Noel, Elder
Dale Valaskovic
Sarah Chivington-Buck
Mr. Charles Uphaus
Becky Rauff
Jane Summey
Catherine Bosley (Retired)
Rev. Elizabeth Soileau Acton
Rev. Alexander Lester-Abdalla; Associate Pastor
Mrs. Judith Lee
Dr. James A. Drahovzal
Rev. Debra Galbreath Baker
Judy Allen
Mrs Sharon Shohfi
Sara Carter, Citizen and Person
Jack Denniston
Pauletta Calhoun
Marilyn White
Rev. Will McGarvey, Pastor
Ann Loomis
Mrs Sharon Shohfi
Libby Johnson